Circus NYC Logo
Circus NYC
Circus NYC
Circus NYC
"Damn everything but the circus." – E.E. Cummings
Support Us
Contact Us
Home
Community
Shows
Workshops
Jobs and Gigs
Random
Resources
About Us
Support CircusNYC
Cascade Of News
TRAINING
ACE Quarantine Connection Series
Posted April 28, 2020
Get ready for four weeks of circus discussion groups, presentations, and community connection! In these unprecedented times, many of us are missing not only our usual training practices, but also our circus families and communities. American Circus Educators is excited to offer a month of programming which aims to support and bring together circus educators in this current moment.

Come talk with other circus educators who are going through some of the same things you are! ACE will be hosting two discussion groups that will meet weekly. Discussions will be loosely moderated, and breakout rooms may be utilized for smaller group discussion.

Discussion Groups
+ Taking Care of Business Discussion Group: Tuesdays, 11am Pacific/12pm Mountain/1pm Central/2pm Eastern (self-care; mental health; unemployment benefits; loans & grants; budgeting; career planning)
+ Online Circus Pedagogy Discussion Group: Wednesdays, 11am Pacific/12pm Mountain/1pm Central/2pm Eastern (online platforms - zoom etc; lesson planning; skills and activities; safety; promotion; games)

Presenter Series
ACE will be hosting a weekly presenter series via Zoom on Thursdays, 8-9pm EDT

+ Thursday May 7th: Circus Based Instruction From a Trauma Informed Mindset, Anne Miller
+ Thursday May 14th: Zoom Basics and Virtual Creativity: Maximizing the Virtual Format As a Circus Educator, Lacy Alana
+ Thursday May 21st: Responding to Communities, Families, and Individuals: Understanding Social Determinants of Health and Trauma, Rhen Miles
+ Thursday May 28th: A Vaccine for Your Vertical Vexes: Shoulders in Hanging and Handstand, Emily Scherb
How:
Register here
How Much:
Discussion groups: Free for ACE members; suggested donation $10 for non-ACE members for each series of group discussions

Presenter series: $5/presentation for ACE members, $10/presentation for non-ACE members
Note from the CircusNYC Editors: Posted as received.